Sunday saw the Woodbridge & DMCC play hosts to nearly 200 riders at Blaxhall for their third motocross event of the season in blistering heat. The meeting featured a line-up of Expert and Junior Allcomers, a round of the NGR Championship and a youth 85cc group. 

After weeks of hot weather and the continuing heat wave that the country is currently experiencing, the club spent all week watering and prepping the circuit in the lead up to Sunday morning. 

After the morning qualifying had sorted the riders into group for the races later in the day it was the 85cc out on track first. When the gate dropped 35 of the regions 85cc youth riders on a mix of Small and Big Wheel machines blasted around the first corner. The battle at the front saw National riders Wal Beaney, Harvey Cashmore and Thomas Harris all pushing for the race win. As the race went on Beaney, who claimed the 2017 British 65cc Championship pulled away from the chasing pair on his Small Wheel bike. Beaney took the win by nearly 10 seconds over Harvey Cashmore and Thomas Harris in second and third on their Big Wheels. Fourth and fifth went to Callum Murfitt (Big Wheel) and Bayliss Utting (Small Wheel).

The second 85cc race saw Wal Beaney make another good start and lead from the first corner until the flag. This time Beaney made a mistake over the back of the circuit and stalled the bike allowing Thomas Harris to close the gap in second to just 7 seconds at the finish. Harvey Cashmore finished close behind in third with Murfitt taking fourth and Alby Smith in fifth on his Big Wheel. The results saw Wal Beaney the winner of the overall class and the Small Wheel class, with Bayliss Utting second and Archie Cockerill in third overall in the Small Wheel class. In the Big Wheel Class Thomas Harris took the overall win ahead of Harvey Cashmore and Callum Murfitt. 

In the Allcomers the riders were split into three groups, with 24 Experts featuring in the A Group. In the first race it was Shaun Southgate who got the start ahead of National rider Lewis Tombs in second and Declan Whttle in third. They battled hard during the opening half of the race with Southgate keeping the pressure on Tombs until the flag with less than 3 seconds between them, the battle for third saw Luke Benstead catch up to Whittle and made a pass for third leaving Whittle in fourth and Supercross specialist Jack Brunell in fifth. The leading Juniors in the race was National Youth 125 rider Sam Nunn in ninth place with Connor Baldry as the second Junior and Ben Alexander in third. 

The second Allcomers A race saw Declan Whittle make the holeshot but the race was Red Flagged when Adam Day crashed on the opening lap. In the restart Tombs made the holeshot and rode to a second race win. He was closely followed home by Luke Benstead in second starting in 7th on the opening lap. Third place went to Southgate with Whittle in fourth and Brunell in fifth. Once again Sam Nunn was the top Junior in 8th with Ben Alexander and Baldry second and third in the Junior Class. 

In the Allcomers B class in was Robert Baldry who took two race wins to claim the overall victory, Second place in both races went to Jordan Crunden for second overall. James Hardman took third overall with two fourth place finishes. Daniel Cole and Billy Middleton took fourth and fifth overall. 

The Allcomers C group saw Thomas Pearmain take two wins for the overall ahead of Scott Goodson in second overall with two thirds and Shaun Tacey took third overall with a 6-2 scorecard. 

In the NGR Championship it was guest rider in the class Jon Barfoot that took the race win in the opening race ahead of Liam Walker and Aaron Hopkins. The second race would see Hopkins take the win over Barfoot but it would be Barfoot who claimed the overall on the day over Hopkins and Walker. 

Unfortunately despite all the hard work the meeting was to be cut short after two full blocks of racing on safety grounds due to the drying conditions and temperatures in excess of 30C. 

Click here for full results