The Diss Motorcycle Club hosted their first meeting this year at their Wattisfield Hall venue in Suffolk on Monday,which included round two of the Tribal MX sponsored British Clubmans sidecarcross and round three of the NGR over30's championship, as well as two groups of allcomers races.

The popular grass land circuit was in prime condition, and the club had made a few changes to the course, which made for closely fought racing in the twelve race programme.

The full line up of forty over 30 year old riders featured in race one, and Will Kerry, Matt French and Chris Thorpe battled hard at the front. The lead changed several times during the race, and it was the Sudbury based rider, Matt French, who took the win from Liam Walker and local ace, Aaron Hopkins. The second NGR race saw Kerry, Thorpe and Hopkins swapping places at the front, with French holding fourth place. Victory went to Hopkins, with Kerry holding off Thorpe as they crossed the finish line. Hopkins, the 2018 champion, went on to win race three, after passing both Kerry and French to take the overall win.

Over 30 sidecar crews from many parts of the UK gave the crowd plenty of thrills and spills, as overtaking on the tight twisting circuit proved difficult. Series leaders, Rob Moss/Ryan Henderson won the first race with James Georges/Chris Simpson chasing hard for second place, just ahead of James Whitt/Scott Lloyd. Race two saw Georges/Simpson taking the lead, and were never troubled at the front. Second place was closely fought, with three outfits involved, and it was Matthew Connor/Jim Kinge who eventually took second place from Tilo Maguire/Peter Thomas and Jon Rutherford/Elliot Browne.

Moss/Henderson made up for there disappointing sixth place by storming to the front in race three, and raced clear, leaving Whitt/ Lloyd to claim second place just ahead of Georges/Simpson. with Maguire/Thomas holding off the challenge of the rest, to take fourth place.

Following the mornings timed practise sessions, the solo allcomers were split into two groups, with all the experts and fastest junior grade riders featuring in the A group. Norfolk.s Ben Cole lead race one, chased hard by Luke Parker, riding his enduro machine. These two were only inches apart during the fifteen minute long race, and were joined by St Albans teenager, Tom Grimshaw, towards the end of the closely fought race. Grimshaw managed to pass Parker, but Cole hung on for the win. Parker has switched to enduro racing this year, competing in the British and European championships, and was having a rare motocross ride, but led  the field in race two until Grimshaw took over at the front after seven minutes. Veteran Jason Morland was on good form, finishing in third place, with Ben Cole charging through the pack after a slow start, to claim fourth at the finish. Cole led race three for a couple of laps, but could not hold off the challenge of Grimshaw, who raced to his second win, and overall victory. Cole was second ahead of Morland, and fourth place went to Rheis Morter after a race long battle with Adam Day, and Luke Gidney.

The supporting B group saw Diss club rider, Jack Whitlam taking the overall win with two wins and a third place. James Gadd took his Kawasaki to second overall, with Sudbury teenager, Henry Cox third on the day.

TribalMX British Clubmans sidecarcross overall.
!st James Georges/ Chris Simpson, 2nd Robert Moss/Ryan Henderson, 3rd James Whitt/Scott Lloyd, 4th Tilo Maguire/Peter Thomas, 5th Matthew Connor/Jim Kinge, 6th Daniel Goodall/Liam Hodges.
NGR over 30' Championship overall.
1st Aaron Hopkins, 2nd Matt French, 3rd Will Kerry, 4th Liam Walker, 5th Mark Goodson, 6th Chris Thorpe.
Allcomers Group A overall.
1st Tom Grimshaw, 2nd Ben Cole, 3rd Jason Morland, 4th Adam Day, 5th Luke Gidney, 6th Luke Parker.
Allcomers Group B overall.
1st Jack Whitlam, 2nd James Gadd, 3rd Henry Cox, 4th Max Hale, 5th Aaron Holden, 6th John Parbury
Report from Charlie Ralph,

Photos by Sophie Brinkley (click on an image to enlarge)