Round three of the G H Motorcycles/Husqvarna/ACU Eastern Enduro Championship took place last Sunday at the Blaxhall International Moto Cross venue and the organisers, Woodbridge Motor Cycle Club laid out a good and challenging course using parts of the MX track and combined the wooded areas. This event was run on the Sprint format which was introduced last year and proved very popular.

In the Championship Class the battle was between Luke Parker and Jason Morland and during the first six runs Parker led by 10 seconds but Morland hit back and reduced this to 3 seconds and then on the 7th run took over the lead by 3 seconds.  During the final runs the lead changed hands several times with Parker falling off twice on the logs in the woods losing valuable seconds, then Morland struggled on other parts of the course and it was anybodies win.  For the last run Parker put in a great effort to secure the win by 3.78 seconds over Morland.  Third place went to Myles Saunders riding in the Championship Class for the first time this year who was 3 minutes and 11 seconds behind the winner while Will Hughes was 4th 1.2 seconds behind Saunders.  Nine times Champion Chris Hockey pulled himself up to 5th place.  Provisionally after three rounds Parker has 60 point, Morland 47 and Hughes 29.

Jack Berry had the best time in the first run over Tommy Clark and James Barker and look to extend his lead over the remaining runs but Barker, who was geed up before the start by his Club President, had other ideas and chipped away at Berry’s lead eventually putting himself ahead.  Meanwhile Clark was putting in some good times winning a few rounds which leaded to an exciting finish which Barker secured the win being 8.61 seconds faster than Clark which left Berry in 3rd place.  Ross Taylor was 4th, Jack Nicolaou 5th and George Eustace 6th.  Berry still leads the Class on 41 points from Barker 33 and Eustace 27.

Contest Sponsor Gavin Hockey managed at last to win a round of the Expert Veteran Class beating Michael Ridge by 1 minute 6.16 seconds with Phil Roper in 3rd place.

Once again Rob Aldridge was supreme taking the win in the Clubman Class while 15 year old Jake Roper surprised everyone finishing 2nd after fighting his way from 3rd place which Dan Hunt took.  William Jurgens was 4th, Ben Beadle 5th and George Wolfe 6th.  Paul Owen came out the winner in the Clubman Veteran Class with Kevin Webb 2nd, Andy Peck 3rd, Jason Carsboult 4th, Dean Curry 5th and Steve Youngs 6th.

Andy Mason lead most of the runs in the Clubman Super Veteran Class but towards the end Gene Womack put in some good times which at the end of the day secured him the win by 24.09 seconds with Mason 2nd and Steve Finch 3rd who could have taken the win had his bike not stalled on the first run which cost him nearly two minutes.

Photos by Anthony Ridge - Click on an image to enlarge